Closing: definition & distinction from signing
Currently set to Index
Currently set to Follow
Article image-KERN-Closing

Closing: definition & distinction from signing

A closing is understood to be the Legal entry into force of a financial statement.

Although at first glance it may seem like a formality, it is important for buyers and sellers to know the difference between signing and closing.

The following article clarifies.

You don't have much time to read? The closing in brief:

  • Closing refers to the Economic transition of the company

  • It is the Completion of the Transition phase after signing

  • Until enforcement, in practice various measures be taken

Definition: Closing in the M&A transaction

When one speaks of a closing in the context of an M&A transaction, it is, by definition, the day of the economic transfer of the company to the new owner. The previously Contractually stipulated handover is executed here.

Specifically, this means that a legal contract previously exists that has been signed by both the buyer and the seller. If the conditions for the conclusion have been fulfilled by both parties, this Contract in force on a previously agreed effective date. This entry into force designates the Closing.

Find out about all the hurdles and terms of a successful sale:

In our online seminar Selling a Business you will learn how to find the right buyer for your company.

Origin of the term

The term closing comes from the English language and means "closing". This means in detail that a transaction is closed by a legally binding contract executed by both contracting parties, i.e. is completed.

Difference between signing and closing

A Company sale usually takes place on the basis of its Complexity in several steps. Once the contracting parties have agreed on the corresponding terms and conditions, the contract is signed. This process is called signing. In the case of legal entities (e.g. limited liability companies), the signing must be certified by a notary public.

By signing, i.e. concluding the contract, both parties enter into obligations under the law of obligations, according to the definition. The fulfilment of these obligations is due on a key date specified in the contract. If the obligations laid down by both parties fulfilled, the contract will then be executed on the cut-off date specified in the signing.

Ownership changes hands and the transaction is completed. The closing has thus taken place.

CORE Graphic - Closing in the course of an M&A transaction

Closing example

The Shareholder XYZ would like to sell its shares in the 123 GmbH to the Buyer ABC transferred. Both parties have agreed on the corresponding framework conditions, such as the purchase price.

In addition, it was stipulated in the contract that shareholder XYZ would pay its liabilities to the Suppliers L, M and N has to settle. The buyer ABC, on the other hand, still has to have the takeover of the company shares approved by the Cartel Office, as it already owns several companies in the same industry.

 The signing will take place on 01.11.2022 in the presence of a notary. The date agreed for the economic transfer of the shares in the company is 01.01.2023.

On 01.01.2023, both the shareholder XYZ and the buyer ABC have fulfilled all formalities stipulated in the purchase agreement. The shares in 123 GmbH are therefore transferred from the old shareholder XYZ to the new shareholder ABC on this date.

Interim Phase and Closing Conditions

The interim phase is the phase that lies between the signing and the closing. This phase serves to fulfil the agreed points, i.e. the closing conditions.

The closing conditions can be more or less extensive. This is for example Depends on the type, size and industry of the company and primarily depends on what both parties have agreed with each other in a legally binding manner.

The more comprehensive the closing conditions are, the longer the interim phase usually is.

The closing in the company purchase agreement

The closing will take place at a Company acquisition set by a cut-off date. On this cut-off date, the Company shares and/or assets shall pass to the purchaser. The prerequisite for this is that the closing conditions have been fulfilled.

The date of closing is recorded in writing in the company purchase agreement and accepted by both parties at signing. In addition, the conditions and measures necessary for the closing are also listed in the company purchase agreement.

Measures until enforcement

The measures up to execution, i.e. the Closing Conditions, are in the Company purchase agreement described. With the signing, both parties have agreed to implement these measures by the set deadline. The measures can be very different depending on the company purchase agreement. Examples of these closing measures are:

KERN-Graphic-List-of-Common-Closing-Conditions

We are happy to accompany you through all the necessary steps ? From the sales advertisement to the closing and beyond:

CORE free initial consultation to request closing
KERN locations DACH and Poland to close

Closing of asset deal / transfer of business

In an asset deal, the company itself sells tangible and intangible assets. The intangible assets also include the employment relationships. Before the transfer of operations, i.e. the closing of the asset deal, can take place, the following steps must first be taken Employees according to § Section 613a (5) BGB to teach.

Workers must be informed in full detail of the timing, reason, legal, economic and social consequences regarding their jobs when they are purchased and taken over.

The background for this regulation is that in an asset deal, in contrast to the share deal, the employer changes, as it does not remain the same company. This new employer may not simply be imposed on the employee.

You can find more information on this topic in our article Share Deal vs. Asset Deal.

Accordingly, section 613a (5) BGB provides for a Objection period of one month for the employees. Only when this objection period has expired can the asset deal be closed.

It is important to adhere to the exact requirements of section 613a (5) of the German Civil Code (BGB) and to inform the employees in full, as otherwise the objection period after the transfer of the business will not expire if the employees are given incorrect, erroneous information.

Closing: Defintion & Abgrenzung zum Signing
Currently set to Index
Currently set to Follow
Beitragsbild-KERN-Closing

Closing: Definition & Abgrenzung zum Signing

Unter einem Closing versteht man das rechtliche Inkrafttreten eines Abschlusses.

Obwohl es sich auf den ersten Blick womöglich nur um eine Formalität handelt, ist es für Käufer und Verkäufer wichtig, den Unterschied zwischen Signing und Closing zu kennen.

Der folgende Artikel klärt auf.

Sie haben nicht viel Zeit zu lesen? Das Closing kurz zusammengefasst:

  • Das Closing bezeichnet den wirtschaftlichen Übergang des Unternehmens

  • Es ist der Abschluss der Übergangsphase nach dem Signing

  • Bis zum Vollzug müssen in der Praxis diverse Maßnahmen ergriffen werden

Definition: Closing bei der M&A Transaktion

Spricht man im Rahmen einer M&A Transaktion von einem Closing, handelt es sich laut Definition um den Tag des wirtschaftlichen Übergangs des Unternehmens an den neuen Eigentümer. Die zuvor vertraglich festgehaltene Übergabe wird hier vollzogen.

Konkret bedeutet dies, dass zuvor ein rechtlicher Vertrag besteht, der sowohl vom Käufer als auch vom Verkäufer unterzeichnet wurde. Wurden die Bedingungen für den Abschluss von beiden Seiten erfüllt, tritt dieser Vertrag zu einem zuvor vereinbarten Stichtag in Kraft. Dieses Inkrafttreten bezeichnet das Closing.

Informieren Sie sich über alle Hürden und Begriffe eines erfolgreichen Verkaufs:

In unserem Online-Seminar Unternehmensverkauf erfahren Sie, wie Sie den richtigen Käufer für Ihre Firma finden.

Herkunft des Begriffs

Der Begriff Closing kommt aus dem Englischen und bedeutet übersetzt „Schließen“. Dies besagt detailliert, dass eine Transaktion geschlossen wird, indem ein rechtskräftiger Vertrag von beiden Vertragsparteien vollzogen, also abgeschlossen wird.

Unterschied zwischen Signing und Closing

Ein Unternehmensverkauf erfolgt in der Regel aufgrund seiner Komplexität in mehreren Schritten. Wenn die Vertragspartner sich auf die entsprechenden Konditionen und Rahmenbedingungen geeinigt haben, wird der Vertrag unterschrieben. Diesen Vorgang bezeichnet man als Signing. Das Signing muss bei juristischen Personen (z. B. GmbH) von einem Notar beglaubigt werden.

Durch das Signing, also den Vertragsabschluss, gehen laut Definition beide Parteien schuldrechtliche Verpflichtungen ein. Die Erfüllung dieser Verpflichtungen ist an einem Stichtag fällig, der im Vertrag bestimmt wurde.  Wurden die festgelegten Verpflichtungen von beiden Parteien erfüllt, wird der Vertrag dann an dem im Signing festgelegten Stichtag vollzogen.

Das Eigentum wechselt den Eigentümer und die Transaktion wird beendet. Das Closing ist somit erfolgt.

KERN-Grafik-Das-Closing-im-Ablauf-einer-M&A-Transaktion

Closing Beispiel

Der Gesellschafter XYZ möchte seine Unternehmensanteile der 123 GmbH an den Käufer ABC übertragen. Beide Parteien haben sich auf die entsprechenden Rahmenbedingungen, wie z. B. den Kaufpreis geeinigt.

Zudem wurde im Vertrag festgelegt, dass der Gesellschafter XYZ seine Verbindlichkeiten bei den Lieferanten L, M und N begleichen muss. Der Käufer ABC dagegen muss die Übernahme der Unternehmensanteile noch vom Kartellamt genehmigen lassen, da er bereits mehrere Unternehmen derselben Branche besitzt.

 Das Signing erfolgt am 01.11.2022 im Beisein eines Notars.  Als Stichtag für den wirtschaftlichen Übergang der Unternehmensanteile wurde der 01.01.2023 vereinbart.

Am 01.01.2023 haben sowohl der Gesellschafter XYZ sowie der Käufer ABC sämtliche Formalien, die im Kaufvertrag festgehalten wurden, erfüllt. Die Unternehmensanteile der 123 GmbH gehen somit an diesem Tag von dem alten Gesellschafter XYZ an den neuen Gesellschafter ABC über.

Interimsphase und Closing Conditions

Die Interimsphase (Übergangsphase) ist die Phase, die zwischen dem Signing und dem Closing liegt. Diese Phase dient dazu, die vereinbarten Punkte, sprich die Closing Conditions zu erfüllen.

Die Closing Conditions können mehr oder weniger umfangreich ausfallen. Dies ist zum Beispiel von der Art, Größe und Branche des Unternehmens abhängig und kommt primär darauf an, was beide Parteien rechtsverbindlich miteinander vereinbart haben.

Je umfangreicher die Closing Conditions sind, desto länger ist in der Regel die Interimsphase.

Das Closing im Unternehmenskaufvertrag

Das Closing wird bei einem Unternehmenskauf durch einen Stichtag festgesetzt. Zu diesem Stichtag sollen die Unternehmensanteile und/oder Vermögensgegenstände an den Käufer übergehen. Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass die Closing Conditions erfüllt wurden.

Das Datum des Closings wird schriftlich im Unternehmenskaufvertrag festgehalten und beim Signing von beiden Parteien akzeptiert. Zudem sind in dem Unternehmenskaufvertrag auch die Bedingungen und Maßnahmen aufgeführt, die notwendig für das Closing sind.

Maßnahmen bis zum Vollzug

Die Maßnahmen bis zum Vollzug, also die Closing Conditions, sind im Unternehmenskaufvertrag beschrieben. Mit dem Signing haben sich beide Parteien dazu erklärt, diese Maßnahmen bis zum festgesetzten Stichtag durchzuführen. Die Maßnahmen können je nach Unternehmenskaufvertrag sehr unterschiedlich sein. Beispiele für diese Abschluss Maßnahmen sind:

KERN-Grafik-Liste-üblicher-Closing-Conditions

Gerne begleiten wir Sie bei allen notwendigen Schritten – Vom Verkaufsinserat bis zum Closing und darüber hinaus:

KERN-kostenlose-Erstberatung-zum Closing-anfordern
KERN Standorte DACH und Polen zum Closing

Closing beim Asset Deal / Betriebsübergang

Beim Asset Deal verkauft das Unternehmen selbst materielle und immaterielle Vermögensgegenstände. Zu den immateriellen Vermögensgegenständen gehören auch die Arbeitsverhältnisse. Bevor der Betriebsübergang, also das Closing beim Asset Deal vollzogen werden kann, sind zunächst die Arbeitnehmer gemäß § 613a Abs. 5 BGB zu unterrichten.

Die Arbeitnehmer müssen in allen Details über den Zeitpunkt, Grund, die rechtlichen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Folgen hinsichtlich ihres Arbeitsplatzes beim Kauf und der Übernahme aufgeklärt werden.

Hintergrund für diese Regelung ist, dass bei einem Asset Deal im Gegensatz zu dem Share Deal der Arbeitgeber wechselt, da es nicht dieselbe Gesellschaft bleibt. Dieser neue Arbeitgeber darf dem Arbeitnehmer nicht einfach aufgezwungen werden.

Weiterführende Informationen zum Thema finden Sie in unserem Beitrag Share Deal vs. Asset Deal.

Entsprechend sieht §613a Abs. 5 BGB eine Widerspruchsfrist von einem Monat für die Arbeitnehmer vor. Erst wenn diese Widerspruchsfrist abgelaufen ist, kann das Closing beim Asset Deal erfolgen.

Wichtig ist es, sich an die genauen Vorgaben des §613a Abs. 5 BGB zu halten und die Arbeitnehmer in vollem Umfang zu unterrichten, da bei falschen, fehlerhaften Informationen an die Arbeitnehmer die Widerspruchsfrist nach dem Betriebsübergang sonst nicht erlischt.